Someone in the locker room at my In-Shape gym convinced me to go to the spin class this morning at 8:15. I agreed because I’ve been curious about spinning, but have you seen those crazy people in there? They are covered in sweat. Their faces are contorted. They stand up on their bikes and their little legs whir around like blender blades. They are bicycle maniacs.

And this morning I joined them. Just the warm-up alone kicked my ass. Do you know you’re supposed to squat above the seat and pedal at the same time? And then stand up and “jog”. And then sit on the hardest seat ever, spinning your legs and keeping your “watts up.”

It got to a point when I couldn’t go any further. Done. Spent. Wanted to walk out the door. But I didn’t. You know why? Not because I knew I was working towards a goal. Not because it was going to make me healthier. Not because I didn’t want to do the “walk of shame”. The only reason I didn’t stop and walk out the door was because there were about ten people who got turned away because the class was full. How selfish would it have been to take a bike that a real athlete wanted?

I wanted to quit. Instead of quitting, I modified. Instead of standing, I sat. Instead of squatting, I sat. I pedaled hard. I pedaled harder. I sweat. And sweat some more. And I argued with myself. A lot.

“Boy, I thought I was getting into shape. Guess not.”

“This sucks.”

“I can’t do this.”

“I hate this.”

“I’m the only one struggling.”

“They’re all laughing at me.”

“The teacher must think I’m a loser.”

“I’m a loser.”

But I finished. Later I asked the teacher if it would get easier if I kept at it. She said, “It never gets easier. Why would you want it to? You’ll always ramp it up, keep working at it.” And she told me it was okay to modify–that everyone does.

Guess I’ll see how much farther I can get next Saturday.

