image

Last night I ate butternut squash. On purpose.

I hate squash. Absolutely despise it.

But on Thanksgiving I drank a good amount of wine and decided that I would try everything I’d never tried before. That resulted in trying sweet potato casserole (dizzyingly sweet) and butternut squash (savory and delicious).

So when I saw the bag of diced BS in my Fresh & Easy, I knew I had to get it. My preparation was simple, and the result? Pretty darned tasty.  No, it doesn’t look great in the picture, which I took on a phone, without a flash, in a kitchen with one light fixture burnt out. But it tasted pretty good in my mouth, and as a post-workout snack it was satisfying–savory and sweet. Kind of like kettle corn. Or Chubby Hubby. Well, maybe I won’t go that far….

Fresh & Easy Butternut Squash
Serves 1-2 as a Main Course, 4 as a side

One bag of pre-cut Butternut Squash (BS)
1 tsp olive oil
1 Tbsp 2% milk Italian cheese blend
Dash of garlic powder
Salt, pepper, cooking spray

Crank your oven to 400 degrees. Spray a pan large enough for all your BS to have its own space (no crowding–you want these puppies to brown). If you don’t love BS, I recommend cutting big chunks smaller so you don’t have large cubes. Put the olive oil in the pan, add the BS. Add garlic powder, salt, pepper (all to taste), and spray the BS lightly with cooking spray. Toss all until well coated. Cook for 40 minutes. Check for doneness around 30 minutes, stirring if it seems well-browned.

Some may want to add nutmeg. I like the garlic powder instead.

