This year I ran my third Thanksgiving Turkey Trot.

In 2009 I “wogged” it. (That’s what Lori Gibson Washington, my wonderful 2009-2010 Weight Watchers leader, calls walking and jogging.) The morning was beautiful: the sun lit up all the different colors of the trees in the Suisun Valley and it just was a glorious way to start the day. There were people dressed in costumes à la Bay to Breakers and it helped me to run, as I swore I wouldn’t finish behind someone dressed up as my dinner. I’d never participated in a 5k and didn’t know what to expect, so I didn’t get a timing chip. I think I finished somewhere between 40 and 45 minutes, and I was very pleased with myself.

Last year was freezing cold and sunny. I walked less and ran more. I finished in 36 minutes and I was very pleased with myself.

This year it threatened to rain and it drizzled a bit, but the real rain held off. Supposedly there were close to 2,000 people running. I ran as hard as I could. I wanted to run the whole time without stopping. I wanted to finish in 32 minutes. Pushing myself, I only looked at my heart rate monitor watch once–at the halfway mark. Little boys kept running in front of me then stopping, then running again, spastically, whooping and hollering then stopping right in front of me. Once I nearly fell on one of them when he stopped dead about two feet in front of me.

I didn’t walk. I finished strong. In 30 minutes.

When I crossed the finish line and realized my accomplishment I started to cry. I don’t know why. Pride? Exhaustion? Either way, this was a huge accomplishment for me. Goal for my next 5k? Finish in under 30!

