When I met with the gym’s fitness manager a few weeks ago her laid out how simple it was going to be to lose these last 40+ pounds in six months. Just exercise and eat no more than 1200 calories a day.

Simple.

Sure.

Simple, yes. Easy, no.

I didn’t get here because I enjoy little bits of low-calorie food. No. I got here because I loved large servings of french fries, big bowls of ice cream, and bacon and eggs three times a week. Red meat. Movie popcorn with butter. Beer.

And oftentimes, a workout for me was a 25-minute mile-long walk, one that left my legs humming from the blood pumping through my veins. And then, I’d lay up on the couch, cruising the web or watching something stupid on TV, like Suddenly Susan.

I want to be the woman who wakes up at 5am to go for a run. I want to be the woman who eats half a tomato on whole wheat sandwich and is stuffed. Who goes to the movies and doesn’t eat anything. Who is excited for workout class and at the end of a long day says, wow, I forgot to eat!

Will I ever be that woman?

