Tonight I wandered through the grocery store craving something. I didn’t know what. I’d had a full, healthy dinner of brown rice, broccoli and pork loin chop in a teriyaki-style sauce. All yummy. All filling. I couldn’t figure out what the emptiness in my belly and the gnawing in my brain was for.

I picked up a “personal” watermelon, but the voice kept whispering. I talked myself out of chocolate chip cookies, eclairs, peppermint ice cream, chocolate dipped cream puffs, sugar-free chocolate pudding (pre-made), cook & serve chocolate pudding, Ghiradelli brownie mix and pastrami. Yeah, I know.

I ended up with Glenny’s Chocolate Brown Rice Marshmallow Treats. $5.49 for a box of five. Pricey, but I figured if they satisfied the craving, one a day would be worth it.

They are not very big, but they are crispy and chewy at the same time. Unfortunately, they don’t have that marshmallowy stickiness that make rice krispie treats TREATS. They were sweet but not overly, and had a subtle chocolate flavor. Did they satisfy the craving? No. 80 grams of “Lite Chocolate Moose Tracks Ice Cream” did that trick. They are organic, gluten & dairy free, and when you eat one, your angel halo might light up.

Another new, organic item for today: Dave’s Killer 21 Whole Grain Bread. I found this at WinCo and threw it in the freezer for those days when I’m craving a sandwich. Today I toasted a slice, had a bit of avocado, honey mustard, and an ounce of grilled chicken. I had it for breakfast in the car on my drive to work. The bread was dense, chewy, and delicious. It toasted well and had great flavor. I’m looking forward to having the same thing, tomorrow.

What would Sydney eat (WWSE): Brown Rice Marshmallow Treats or Dave’s Killer Bread?

Definitely the bread.

